Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: help me get ready for a Muir Trail snow shoe trip
Fishmonger #9421 12/06/10 10:44 AM
B
B
MSR Twin Peaks looks nice.

I've used a bunch of different stuff, bomber Winter Tent,
regular old tent, GoLite Shangri-La 1, tarp, and no tent at all.
All depends, who going with, where, what time...
Twin Peaks looks like a winner. I'm not totaly in love with
the Shangri-La 1. It does great in wind, it's just somewhat
of a pain to setup. Problem is is that if I bring it I
don't set it up on account it usually nice out...
I personally need to use it more in the snow to give a good
assessment.

So perhaps you don't think I'm making everything up, here's
a couple of trips from this year:
http://picasaweb.google.com/yosemite.chick.on/StarrKing
http://picasaweb.google.com/yosemite.chick.on/Nance

Favorite was to Echo Lake but that's not on the chick-on account.

I have some knowledge, but by not means claim to be an expert.

bill-e-g #9451 12/07/10 10:58 AM
I love your photos of Yosemite in Winter. I've never been to Yosemite in Winter, but I'd love to see it in Winter time IN-PERSON. I sure hope there is a person taking these photos and not a tripod. I could never camp in snow that deep without someone to snuggle with. I don't think the Pink Chicken will keep anyone very warm, but she sure is darn cute. LOVE YOUR PHOTOS LOTS! OOOPS, just saw a picture that called the Chick-On a Boy, now that's just not right, pink is for girls....my favorite color.

Last edited by lynn-a-roo; 12/07/10 11:01 AM.

Lynnaroo
RoguePhotonic #9455 12/07/10 02:10 PM
CaT Offline
RP - The few times I have used a Thermarest (supposedly their best - i.e., thickest -- one), I wasn't at all impressed with it. It still seemed paper thin to me. So what do you use now instead of Thermarest?

CaT