Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 200 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hiking Mt.Whitney in May (13th-16th)
#22882 04/15/12 11:58 AM
M
OP Offline
M
Hi, I've been using the board for info for the past month or so, didn't get a spot when I originally wanted in July, ended up taking some time off in May.

I know we've had some unseasonably hot weather this winter, and likewise a lot of rain/snow storms recently, so its going to be hard to make a judgement call this early out, but what is typical conditions that time of year.

I've never done Whitney before, I've hiked San Jacinto without an ounce of altitude sickness. My plan was to hike up to base camp on Mon, hang out the night, summit the next day then head down the backside and spend the night, hike back up the third day and summit and depending on time either spend the night at base camp again, or time permitting, make it all the back to the portal and head home.

Re: Hiking Mt.Whitney in May (13th-16th)
MichaelRyanSD #22890 04/15/12 06:20 PM
W
W
You will need basic snow skills, ice axe, crampons and some additional warmies. Microspikes will help with the trailwalking parts if there any extended ice...I generally carry both crampons and Microspikes on winter trips.

The chances of the trail being open above cables is just above nil...which means there is a chance, but there is still the angled ice as you approach Mt. Whitney.

See my pictures of a May 2007 trip, which can be accessed through the links below. The conditions in 2007 are similar to this year.

wbtravis #22893 04/15/12 08:01 PM
S
S
Here's the link to his May 12, 07, trip:

Spring on The Main Mt. Whitney Trail

Steve C #22903 04/15/12 10:58 PM
J
J
Steve