Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 155 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Second chance permit question
#3773 04/26/10 09:57 PM
S
Steve C Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Posted on another forum:

Forgive me, as I'm still pretty new to this process. My permit application was rejected last month, and now I see some attractive week day dates that are still available. They are accepting new applications beginning the 28th (Wed) for those left over permits. Is the process the same, as in, do you send in the same form? Is it still ok to add alternate dates in case your first choice is full? Thanks in advance.

The dates available page published by Inyo National Forest is here:  Mt. Whitney Trail Reservation Availability  Note that the page has not been updated since April 1, and May, June and July slots have been available for call-in since last week. August and later can be obtained starting Wednesday, 4/28. Be sure to call early!

Unused slots can be obtained by phoning the Wilderness Permit office at 760-873-2483, M-F, 8-4:30.

Alternately, you could fax your request to the office at 760-873-2484, but then you have to wait to find out whether you got the dates you asked for. The lottery permit form would probably be ok: It can be found here.  The general application forms can be found on this page.

Re: Second chance permit question
Steve C #3779 04/26/10 10:38 PM
Than you, Steve. I'm going to wear out my dialing fingers Wednesday morning.

jeff evans #3796 04/27/10 07:02 AM
W
W
Now a voice for semi-dark side...just go and save the $15 per. There are usually more than enough permits available to walk-in and get one.

Worse comes to worst and you don't get one...you end up seeing a part of the Sierra you haven't seen before.

I've never missed at Mt. Whitney walking in but I have at other Eastern Sierra trailheads. Its always been a very rewarding experience.