Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Planning my first Whitney ascent.
#41218 12/22/14 05:26 PM
OP Offline
Hey y'all.

I've been planning on summiting Whitney for a couple of months, and i'm looking for advice, experience and help. I'm looking to do this in late January or early Feb. I'm planning on taking the Whitney Trail, and plan on doing the trip solo. The trip will be a multi-day backpacking trip.

I have little mountaineering experience, but lots of experience with solo camping, hiking, and some experience with hiking in snow, ice and snowshoeing. I'm 25 and in the best shape of my life. I run 8 miles a week, and hike 8-13 each weekend. In the past weeks i've done San Antonio (No snow) and Cucamonga (1-2ft of snow). I'm going to do Baldy again tomorrow. I want this to be my first serious mountaineering trip, but not my last.

As far as gear, i'm currently piecing it all together. I've got about 1/3 of what i'll need. I plan on getting practice in with crampons and an ice axe.

Here's what i'm looking for -

Your experience with camping at 10-12k feet in in these months. What should i be prepared for, aside from the obvious? I expect to see temps in the -10 to +5* range at night.

Your experience summiting in the winter months? What should i be aware of?

Am I being reckless in planning this, particularly solo?

Another question, as far as gear is concerned, i've been going off of this. It seems to be pretty comprehensive. What do you think?

Sierra/Colorado Winter Mountaineering Equipment List
    from: American Alpine Institute Winter Mountaineering in the Sierra

Re: Planning my first Whitney ascent.
Kmracer89 #41219 12/22/14 07:39 PM
S
S
kmr: First thoughts: Be sure to get some experience with all the winter gear. If you do this trip, don't go any farther than you feel comfortable. A first time might be a good trial run with the idea of repeating later.