Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 155 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Will this boot and crampon combo work in current conditions?
#50041 06/08/17 07:11 PM
S
OP Offline
S
Experts:

My wife is day-climbing Whitney next Tuesday with our adult son. Her boot/crampon combo is shown in the Amazon link below. Will this combo work in current conditions? I'm a little worred that a trail shoe with a slip on crampon will not be adequate. Any expert opinions are appreciated. She has been training hard for the past two months and has summited Mr. Shasta and King's Peak (Utah) in the past few years. Our son summited Ranier last year so between them, they're not complete novices. I'm just a little worried that a low cut trail shoe and Hillsound crampons are inadequate in current snow conditions. Looking for a little reassurance from some of you experts who've been on the mountain recently.

Thank you in advance!

https://www.amazon.com/Hillsound-Trail-C...ikes+for+hiking

Last edited by Smokin Joe; 06/08/17 08:08 PM.
Re: Will this boot and crampon combo work in current conditions?
Smokin Joe #50043 06/08/17 08:03 PM
B
B
Hey smokin Joe,

With these current conditions, and after reading of current reports of the trail, it would be very difficult to reach the summit. The 99 switchbacks from trail camp are still covered in snow and I believe people are climbing up the chute and switchbacking back down or glissading down with an ice axe.

Is this your wife's and son's first whitney trip? If so I recommend camping up in whitney trail camp but it's risky to reach the summit in that setup. If both are doing a one day gig of reaching the summit, it will take much longer anything above 9,000ft where there's still snow covered.