Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 155 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Need advice from experienced hikers. Whitney June 27-28.
#50271 06/22/17 09:11 AM
A
Azat Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hi everyone! My name is Azat, I am 26 y.o. and this is my first time I am going to Whitney June 27-28th on overnight trail. First, I am looking for anyone who wants to join me (I am alone for now). Second, I want to share with experienced hikers my plan, so I am looking for any corrections and mistakes I may have.

In January I fell in love with Denali and I decided that I will go there next year. And to prepare to this summit I am going 2 times to the Whitney this year. I started actively planning hike to Whitney couple months ago. I go to hikes every week (with weights). Last weekend I did 8 miles, 1700 feet gain elevation with 30 pounds. Also I am training in the gym, doing a lot of cardio (stairs and running machine with highest incline).

There are some of my concerns/questions:

1. First night. I am traveling from Venice Beach, so it’s 0 feet elevation and I wanted to get sleep somewhere at high altitude. The question is where to stay?
- Is is allowed to park in Whitney Portal and sleep in the car?
- Is it allowed to camp near the car? Whitney Portal is about 8k feet and I definitely wanted to get acclimate there before my first day hike.
- Or should I go to 4k feet and sleep at hotel in Lon Pine? For example Whitney portal hostel? 4k feet - will it be enough to acclimate first day? I am planning to hike up to 12k feet and camp there.

2. Should I really consider crampons and ice axe? I have waterproof Vasquez breeze III GTX http://www.vasque.com/USD/product/mens-footwear/breeze-iii-gtx-brn-oliv-bunge-07190
3. Is it better to take all my water for 2 days or is it better to buy filters and purify water from the rivers?