Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 155 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: WAG bags left on trail
pd tahoe #50627 07/05/17 11:19 PM
K
K
thank you instagram and facebook for bringing more idiots onto the trail

BrianBlair #50655 07/06/17 06:20 PM
Originally Posted By: BrianBlair
The solution is rather simple to me:

Stamp every bag with a permit number.

The Rangers patrolling the trail see bags left behind. They jot down the permit number.

Once back at the ranger station they pull up the permit and inform the permit holder that they will not be issued another permit for a yead.....or 5 years.....or life as far as I'm concerned.

Simple and would fix the problem.

BB

I don’t like the government-issued WAG bags, so I make my own out of two Ziploc bags. (I’ve been doing this for 20+ years.) If I leave it by the trail, there will be no permit number on it. If I just crap under a rock, there will be no permit number on it.

As I keep saying, these schemes are either totally unworkable or trivial to defeat. This is kinda fun. You guys keep proposing “simple” solutions that will “fix the problem”, and I’ll keep shooting them down. You can inconvenience the people who follow the rules, but there are a thousand ways to get around carrying your poop out if you don’t want to be responsible.

bobpickering #50658 07/06/17 07:51 PM
D
DUG Offline
D

I don’t like the government-issued WAG bags, so I make my own out of two Ziploc bags. (I’ve been doing this for 20+ years.) If I leave it by the trail, there will be no permit number on it. If I just crap under a rock, there will be no permit number on it.