Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
1 members (1 invisible), 219 guests, and 8 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Aug 19 Whitney trail, first timer
#6838 08/23/10 11:23 AM
D
DanR Offline OP
OP Offline
D
First timers on Aug 19.
Start: 230am
Trail camp: 630
Trail crest: 815
Summit: 945
Left summit: 1045
Finished: 4pm
13.5 hrs.

Personal thoughts: We did this with 12 hrs acclimatization. This wasn't text book, but luckily it worked out for us. I felt it on the switch backs when I started to huff and puff through the mouth. We slowed down and I mainly breathed in and out through my nose to slow my breathing and it made a big difference. I had read where COPD patients should breathe out through pursed lips to allow more oxygen a chance to get in their blood stream. I kept this in mind in the hard places at high altitude and it seemed to help. I'm not a medical professional at all but would love to hear someone else's opinion on this.

I am 5'6" and was hiking with a friend 6'3". I could not keep up with his long stride. Put the slower person in front.

Train harder than you think you should. It will only make the trip easier. Remembered an interview with Lance Armstrong when he was asked why he makes the Alpes look so easy. He said, come watch me train and when you see me crying and vomitting you'll know why.

I researched the hell out of this trip. From this board and personal accounts I felt very comfortable with venturing onto a new trail.

We filtered our water on our way up at trail camp and on our way down at the switch backs. Probably used 2 liters on our way up to trail camp, 2.5 l's round trip from trail camp to summit and back to switchbacks, then 2 more back Whit portal.