Next Thread
Print Thread
Q: Wilderness Travel Course
#9233 11/24/10 09:49 AM
T
OP Offline
T
Hi Guys/Gals,

Noticed an ad for sierra club in my area offering this 10-week course. Just checking if anyone here has taken it and could give me an insight on what the experience was like, worth it/helpful/fun?

I'm still a relative newbie when it comes to hiking (and venturing out into the woods in general) and just looking to learn more, specially snow travel.

Thanks!

Re: Q: Wilderness Travel Course
Tyrone Biggums #9234 11/24/10 10:24 AM
Originally Posted By: Tyrone Biggums
...worth it/helpful/fun?...

Definitely!

Journey well...
Tyrone Biggums #9235 11/24/10 10:57 AM
Hello Tyrone,

A friend of mine often travels with the Sierra Club to places like the Grand Canyon/Havasupi Falls, Mt. Rushmore, and many more places I can't remember at the moment. My friend loves the Sierra Club trips. She also hikes with the Sierra Club one evening each week after work. Personally, I've stayed at the huts such as Harwood and Keller huts in Southern California......you can't beat the price per night and the accommodations are good too, plus they're equipped with community kitchens where you can prepare your own hot meals which is a great savings. The huts operate similar to a hostel in that you sleep in a dorm room with other members and everyone pitches in by doing a chore in the hut in the morning before you depart. You'll generally meet friendly people with the same interests. You can learn a lot about hiking conversing with other Sierra Club members at the hut. Another good place to look for organized outings is on the REI or Adventure 16 websites. If you're not familiar with Adventure 16, it's a recreational equipment store similar to REI. Following is REI and Adventure 16's links to wilderness outings and other events:

REI:
http://www.rei.com/learn

Adventure 16:
http://www.adventure16.com/events.asp?itemid=56

I look forward to reading your Trip Reports on the Whitney Zone soon.