Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Whitney reality check: hike planned for late next week
#53432 06/12/18 11:59 AM
S
OP Offline
S
Hi All: as it stands now, I'm starting a hike on Monday next week (June 18) from Onion Valley/Kearsarge Pass south to Mt. Whitney (exiting at Whitney Portal).

This would put me climbing Mt. Whitney on either Thursday June 21 or Friday June 22.

I've been monitoring conditions—as of today, it sounds like west side switchbacks are now/should be mostly snow-free; sounds like the eastside is still snow-packed down to Trail Camp—but not sure if that will still be the case in 10 days?

I'm in good shape for the hike, very level-headed, and conservative by nature (not prone to taking risks). I have ZERO experience using an ice axe and don't plan to bring one (though I could if I'm told I should have one). I will definitely have trekking poles (I use them all the time).

I do have Kahtoola microspikes, but not sure whether to bring them or not? I'm also hiking alone—though also assuming there will be plenty of other hikers around.

I'd really appreciate any opinions (understanding that everyone is different and "your mileage may vary") on whether it's reasonable for me to think...
a) I'll make it up and over Trail Crest and down to Whitney Portal, and
b) I can summit Whitney (e.g. footing will be fine without crampons and ice axe)

Keep in mind that I'm coming from Kearsarge Pass, so will already have climbed Forester Pass (and be pretty well-acclimated by the time I get to Whitney).

ALSO: if I don't have an ice axe, is glissading down the east side even an option? (Is it reasonable to hike down if there is still lots of snow coverage?)

Thanks!
Scott

Last edited by SWriverstone; 06/12/18 12:02 PM.
Re: Whitney reality check: hike planned for late next week
SWriverstone #53438 06/12/18 01:16 PM
S
OP Offline
S