Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 207 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Successful The First Time, August 8th, 2014
#39576 08/11/14 10:29 AM
J
OP Offline
J
My friends and I had been talking about doing Whitney for the past two years and planning for the past year. Put in for over night and day permits and unfortunately was unsuccessful on the overnight lottery, but scored day permits. On August 5th, I arrived in Lone Pine, a day earlier then my hiking crew, to get aquainted with the area. My crew arrived the next day and camped at the Whitney Portal Camp Ground, site #44. Very nice site next to the river with no one else around. On Thursday, Aug. 7th, we decided to hike to Lone Pine Lake for our warm up hike and spend some time at 10,000 feet to acclimate.