Mt Whitney Zone
Posted By: Nei Anyone going up on June 25-26? - 06/13/11 11:14 PM
What time normally people leave the TH for an overnight summit? I would like to follow some experienced hiker since this is my first time and I am going solo. Is the NOAA site reliable for wind information?

I love this site and I wish you all a safe climb!

Nei
Posted By: Steve C Re: Anyone going up on June 25-26? - 06/13/11 11:55 PM
What do you mean by "an overnight summit"?

The NOAA Weather site is about as good as it gets, but you should also check the other weather sites listed on the Mt Whitney Weather page.
Posted By: Nei Re: Anyone going up on June 25-26? - 06/14/11 12:59 AM
[quote=Steve C]What do you mean by "an overnight summit"?

I am camping on Trail camp on the 25 and summit on the 26. It is a overnight permit.
Posted By: Anonymous1 Re: Anyone going up on June 25-26? - 06/14/11 02:36 AM
Nei, I've only day hiked Whitney, but if I was doing an overnighter, I'd still leave early like at 6/7 AM. I don't know how strong/healthy you are, but even with a heavy pack, I assume you would be able to get to Trail Camp within 6-7 hours tops.

You'll have plenty of light, and on those dates, see plenty of people. It will be hard for you to get lost. Trail Camp has a lot of wide, dry space to camp. You'll have plenty of people there to chit chat with and probably summit together the following day.

Leaving at that time, the snow will still be relatively firm, and you'll have a healthy cushion to set up camp, take pictures, enjoy yourself, (see if you get AMS, and if so, how bad), etc.
Posted By: Nei Re: Anyone going up on June 25-26? - 06/14/11 01:01 PM
Thank you Atari!

First, congrats on your summit! I enjoyed the pictures.

I got some diamox yesterday and I will take one this weekend to see my body response to it. I am planning to summit Baldy this Sunday to celebrate father's day!

BTW, Happy father's day to the daddy's here.

Nei