Posted by mgk, 09-18-07
I am a 45 year old beginner hiker and still learning. Although I summitted Mount Langley a couple of months ago and thought I knew what I was doing, I was not as prepared for Whitney last week as I should have been. I thought I would share a little of my experience for those who are looking to hike in the area and haven't thought about the wind (as I hadn't)

Last week (Thursday to be exact), I attempted to day hike to the summit of Whitney, but turned back at Trail Camp due to high winds. I had checked the weather for the week leading up to the hike and noted the forecast was consistently "sunny and clear". I did not expect 35 mph winds with gusts up to 60 mph and the wind chill impact that came with it. Although I had dressed warmly, I neglected to bring warm gloves (I brought a thin pair of gloves that the wind blew right through). So, lesson learned for me is to consider not only what weather is forecasted, but what weather is possible as well. I was disappointed to turn back at Trail Camp, but met many nice people on the trail and will definitely be back next summer for another attempt. A lot of hikers turned around due to the wind, but I did notice some still going up the switchbacks so assume the wind was not a factor for them.

Just wondering from others who hike MWT frequently if wind is typically a factor in clmbing to the summit, or can it be eliminated by proper preparation?

Thanks.

Posted by KevinR, 09-18-07
Hiking in wind takes practice, and can be disorienting, even when you've had some experience. By 'wind', I'm referring to wind speed speeds 30mph and above. At 30-35 the wind begins to push you around a bit; by 60mph it's tough to stand up and you're getting knocked down from time to time. Personally, I don't often hike in sustained winds of 45mph as it's too tiring, but I will if the summit is near and other factors keep the risk within my comfort zone.