Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
1 members (climby_climber), 33 guests, and 6 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics5,907
Posts53,218
Members4,130
Most Online1,443
Jul 29th, 2019
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Mt Williamson Webcam
#5438 06/24/10 09:05 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Steve C Offline OP
OP Offline
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Our Mt Williamson web cam came on-line yesterday. It still needs to be pointed a little more south, but I am happy to see it up and running.

Here's a current picture:



This morning (6/24/10), Mt. Williamson is the peak on the left side of the picture.

Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Steve C #5439 06/24/10 09:09 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
Offline
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
Can you please post a pic of the cam itself?


Verum audaces non gerunt indusia alba. - Ipsi dixit MCMLXXII
Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
wagga #5441 06/24/10 09:26 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Steve C Offline OP
OP Offline
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Here you go...

It is on Dennis Mattinson's office building:




Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Steve C #5442 06/24/10 09:28 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 838
Offline
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 838
AWESOME!

Glad to know the issues with the I-net have been resolved at dmatt's office!

WOO HOO!


Journey well...
Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
+ @ti2d #5443 06/24/10 09:31 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Steve C Offline OP
OP Offline
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
It's amazing to think how many people were involved in this camera's setup.

Pam, Gary, Dave, Dennis, Steve, Charlee, Rob. And a few others along the way.

Here's a great big THANK YOU to each and every one!!

Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Steve C #5444 06/24/10 09:32 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Steve C Offline OP
OP Offline
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Looks like the 395 is busy today. The camera keeps catching cars in the picture as they go by.

Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Steve C #5447 06/24/10 10:05 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 695
CaT Offline
Offline
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 695
WONDERFUL, Steve! Such a beautiful view! Thanks to everyone for their work on this! Any plans to put the Williamson webcam picture right below the Whitney webcam picture on the left sidebar?

CaT


If future generations are to remember us with gratitude rather than contempt, we must leave them more than the miracle of technology. We must leave them a glimpse of the world as it was in the beginning, not just after we got through with it.
- Lyndon Johnson, on signing the Wilderness Act into law (1964)
Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
CaT #5450 06/24/10 02:00 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
Offline
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
As of 12:13: Look at that lenticular cloud!


Verum audaces non gerunt indusia alba. - Ipsi dixit MCMLXXII
Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
wagga #5479 06/25/10 09:21 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
Offline
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
Webcam is back up - good work, Steve! Note that it is also featured on the left under the Whitney cam.


Verum audaces non gerunt indusia alba. - Ipsi dixit MCMLXXII
Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Fishmonger #45397 03/08/16 03:53 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Steve C Offline OP
OP Offline
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
It appears the Williamson webcam finally quit today. It worked successfully for six years. About 300,000 pictures taken!!

The camera does not respond when turned off and back on. It will be some weeks before I can get it working again. New camera, new box, road trip...

Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Steve C #46302 05/17/16 10:46 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Steve C Offline OP
OP Offline
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
The Road Trip occurred last weekend, and we installed a "new" Olympus SP500-UZ, with a new box and power supply. Let's hope it lasts as long as the old camera.

Here's a great picture from this morning, taken by the new setup.


Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Steve C #46306 05/18/16 01:07 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
Offline
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
Saw that, came here to post it.

1) Looks like an oil painting.

2) I wonder if CJs would chip in a little for the exposure?


Verum audaces non gerunt indusia alba. - Ipsi dixit MCMLXXII
Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Steve C #46533 06/02/16 09:07 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Steve C Offline OP
OP Offline
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Originally Posted By: Steve C
It appears the Williamson webcam finally quit today. It worked successfully for six years. About 300,000 pictures taken!!

The camera does not respond when turned off and back on. It will be some weeks before I can get it working again. New camera, new box, road trip...

And for more bad news... We just replaced the camera a few weeks ago, and now the old workstation unit running the webcam has crashed. Reports it can't find Windows.

Does anybody have access to an old Windows computer that we might put into service? ...For example, an old desktop unit that still works but you no longer need?

Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Steve C #46534 06/02/16 10:27 AM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 58
P
Offline
P
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 58
Originally Posted By: Steve C
Originally Posted By: Steve C
It appears the Williamson webcam finally quit today. It worked successfully for six years. About 300,000 pictures taken!!

The camera does not respond when turned off and back on. It will be some weeks before I can get it working again. New camera, new box, road trip...

And for more bad news... We just replaced the camera a few weeks ago, and now the old workstation unit running the webcam has crashed. Reports it can't find Windows.

Does anybody have access to an old Windows computer that we might put into service? ...For example, an old desktop unit that still works but you no longer need?


Sounds funky, like a file system error for windows. Depending on how old the box is a new HD and a clean windows install may sort it.

Regardless, I've got a spare box I can donate to the cause. I will put a clean install of 32 bit windows 7 and as much ram as I can scrape up. I think I have a spare TB hd sitting around too. One of the benefits of being the IT guy at work. I'll be heading up to Coyote Flat to putz around on the 11th and could drop off on my way up if you cant find something sooner.

Jake

Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
psykokid #46540 06/02/16 02:55 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Steve C Offline OP
OP Offline
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Outstanding, Jake!!! The old system was a donated Windows XP box. We installed it in 2010, and it was old then! The power supply died and was replaced a year or two back. It is too old to try to resurrect. It was giving me funky Windows errors and the webcam software crashed several times in the past several weeks, too. It all points to the disk drive wearing out.

If you can donate your Win7 unit, I am sure it will work great. It doesn't need anything like a big disk. It just runs the one webcam software application, which runs a FTP process to transfer the pictures to the web. Probably the most important thing is for it to be set up to reboot automatically after a power failure -- that happens a few times a year in the Owens Valley.

I'll contact you via email.

thanks

Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Steve C #46543 06/02/16 03:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
Offline
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
Are you sure that the webcam software runs W7 without needing Administrator level?


Verum audaces non gerunt indusia alba. - Ipsi dixit MCMLXXII
Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
wagga #46544 06/02/16 03:49 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Steve C Offline OP
OP Offline
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,070
Likes: 14
Originally Posted By: wagga
Are you sure that the webcam software runs W7 without needing Administrator level?
Well, I see it does prompt me on my local unit. frown But can't we change the W7 security settings so that it allows it to start without the prompt?

Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
Steve C #46545 06/02/16 04:01 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 58
P
Offline
P
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 58
For a box such as this where no one is going to be going in and installing other stuff we can probably get away with disabling UAC in windows 7 and have the webcam software run just fine.

Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
psykokid #46547 06/02/16 05:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
Offline
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,251
The folder that the application keeps it own data in will probably need to be "blessed" by setting full access, and you may need to fix registry settings for that folder, or both.


Verum audaces non gerunt indusia alba. - Ipsi dixit MCMLXXII
Re: Mt Williamson Webcam
wagga #46554 06/03/16 08:04 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 838
Offline
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 838
Steve...my wife tells me she has 60...yes, 60, computers ready for donation...Ah, Lone Pine 2012...Lone Pine 2016? Will send you a PM later or I may post here.


Journey well...
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4
(Release build 20200307)
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.4.3 Page Time: 0.036s Queries: 55 (0.020s) Memory: 0.6783 MB (Peak: 0.8216 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2020-07-05 09:51:07 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS