Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Whitney Weather in Late June
#12964 04/16/11 06:08 AM
I
OP Offline
I
I'll be heading up out of the portal on June 28 for 2 nights. It's my first time up and I'm taking my 17 year old daughter and her friend who are both in athletic condition. I'm starting to wonder about the weather. I want to make sure they have the proper weather equipment so they will love the experience and want to backpack with me in the future. What kind of weather highs and lows should we expect. I would hate to be the dumb mom on the mountain!

Re: Whitney Weather in Late June
iteach4th #12965 04/16/11 06:51 AM
W
W
Hit the earlier link then manipulation the date within the url for historical temperatures. Add/subtract 3.5* F every 1,000' away this station's elevation.

http://tinyurl.com/42xrkwt

I've been using it for years.

Last edited by wbtravis; 04/16/11 06:51 AM.
wbtravis #12967 04/16/11 07:02 AM
I
OP Offline
I
Thanks, I'll try and use it.

iteach4th #12976 04/16/11 01:02 PM
Rod Offline
Depends on the year. I went up June 20,2007. 2006 was a drought and very dry year. We saw very little snow except a lot of snow at the cables,a walkways width pass on the cables,and patches of snow on the western backside past Trailcrest.
This year, well it snowed as recently as last weekend and there is a huge amount of snowpack now.I suspect there will be serious amounts of snow on the trail late June from Trail Camp to Summit.Read and watch trip reports posted here from May till the day before you head to Whitney. By then you will have plenty of beta to know trail conditions.Always check dmatts weather info link for weather near the time of your trip.Good luck.

Last edited by Rod; 04/16/11 01:04 PM.
wbtravis #12979 04/16/11 01:55 PM
G
G
Originally Posted By: wbtravis
Hit the earlier link then manipulation the date within the url for historical temperatures. Add/subtract 3.5* F every 1,000' away this station's elevation.