Next Thread
Print Thread
Whitney first timer question
#15981 07/02/11 01:55 PM
V
vamsi Offline OP
OP Offline
V
I am a beginner hiker 35yrs old, who signed up for the Mt. Whitney lottery 3 months back hoping I would train and be ready for my over-night hike July 23rd/24th.
Unfortunately I barely trained so far and just started doing some hikes and hitting the gymn since last week. I intend to be religious with my training atleast these last 3 weeks. I am hoping some of the experience folks on this forum can answer some of my questions (in some cases dumb ones):

* Should I even be thinking of attempting it given my training level?. Or should I attempt it keeping in mind I should turn back should my gut indicate I can't make it.
* Will the snow have melted on the switchbacks by July 23rd/24th or should I be prepared for snow and the chute?.
* Given that I have 3 weeks what is the best way to utilize these 3 weeks to train?.

Thanks a lot in advance.

- Vamsi.

Re: Whitney first timer question
vamsi #15982 07/02/11 02:05 PM
G
G
My opinions:

Yes, I think you should absolutely give it a go. But like you said in the second part, be just as prepared to not summit as to summit. The mountain will always be there next week, next month, next year. The idea is for you to be around too. Besides, by going, even if you don't summit, you gain valuable experience that will help you on your second bid.

I get the feeling that by your dates, the snow will probably be melted to the point that the switchbacks will be ready for use, and you'll be able to avoid the chute. I have no scientific evidence to back up my feeling, but with the recent heat and TRs, it just seems like three more weeks will be enough to make them usable.