Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Two Firsts in One Trip
#23696 05/07/12 10:21 PM
M
OP Offline
M
So, following up on my other post, I wanted to see if there was any overall sound advice before I attempt two firsts next week, one being doing some actual mountaineering and two, my first summit on Whitney.

I'm leaving CA after growing up here for 26 years in 2 months and my job will likely never see me back here so I've been knocking out a few things before I go (did a motorcycle trip up the coast highway a couple months ago, total blast and everyone must do it).

Wanted to see if you guys had any overall arcing advice and things to remember/consider?

Re: Two Firsts in One Trip
MichaelRyanSD #23700 05/07/12 10:46 PM
S
S
From your post April 15:
Quote:
I've never done Whitney before, I've hiked San Jacinto without an ounce of altitude sickness. My plan was to hike up to base camp on Mon, hang out the night, summit the next day then head down the backside and spend the night, hike back up the third day and summit and depending on time either spend the night at base camp again, or time permitting, make it all the back to the portal and head home.

San J. is 4000' lower than Mt Whitney. It is quite likely you will experience AMS if you go all the way to Trail Camp and spend the night. (Trail Camp is 2k higher than the summit of San Jacinto.) You will know when you wake up in the morning. I'd see a doctor and get some Diamox just in case, and learn the recommended dosage (1/4 to 1/8 of the dosage for glaucoma).

This is your first time on Whitney. Thinking you will pop over Trail Crest with a full pack to spend the night at Guitar lake is a nice fantasy. Just getting yourself to the summit and back will be a nice first.

Seems like you have studied and prepared much for this trip. Good luck!

Steve C #23724 05/08/12 08:50 AM
W
W
First time winter mountaineering on Mt. Whitney. Good luck.