Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 121 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
So, how many times have you been on the summit of Whitney??
#24475 05/29/12 08:11 PM
K
KathyW Offline OP
OP Offline
K
I'm just curious how many times people who post here have hiked or climbed to the summit of Mount Whitney.

I've only done the hike 5 times. Three times up the Mule Trail (Main Trail) from the Portal, once up the Mountaineer's Route, and once as I was heading out after camping at Guitar Lake; so I'm not a Whitney expert like some of the folks who post on the forum and give advice. I'm probably still considered a Whitney novice (I don't like the use of the slang term noob for someone without a lot of experience).

Anyway, what's your number of successful Whitney hikes/climbs and why do you keep going back?

Re: So, how many times have you been on the summit of Whitney??
KathyW #24478 05/29/12 09:27 PM
M
M
Just once, why you ask? Because it was there.

KathyW #24482 05/30/12 06:14 AM
Kathy -

I've done it about 15 times, and many more times up to Trail Camp as a somewhat rigorous day hike. When I lived in Inyokern, I tried to do it twice a year - spring and fall.

As to why - well, I hike alot, and so it comes into the 'rotation' on a regular basis. It's a very pretty hike - spectacular in some places. And doing it regularly gives me feedback on my general fitness level. It's also relatively close by, so getting to the VC for a pass is about an hour's drive.

KathyW #24485 05/30/12 07:43 AM
I think twice for me. Once from the West doing the High Sierra Trail and then again by the MMWT. Went West to East over the crest once but did not have time to do the summit.

RoguePhotonic #24492 05/30/12 12:11 PM