Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
2 members (VA Traveler, 1 invisible), 239 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
anyone interested in hiking Mt. Whitney this Sunday 9/28/14?
#40330 09/23/14 01:18 PM
S
Steve D Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I have a permit for up to 4, but it looks like the others won't be able to make it so I have some open spots. The plan is to drive up from LA on Saturday afternoon and camp at Whitney Portal, start hiking at 4am or 5am, and reach the summit in 4-5 hours.

Since I've never done this summit before, I'd prefer not to do it alone and would like to go with another person or group. Let me know if you are interested!

Re: anyone interested in hiking Mt. Whitney this Sunday 9/28/14?
Steve D #40331 09/23/14 02:09 PM
M
M
Hi,

I would like to join you up Whitney, but I can only do it after the weekend of Sept. 27-28. Can you go during the first weekend in October? I am in LA as well.

Thanks.

Miles #40333 09/23/14 02:56 PM
S
Steve D Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I'm going to be going on this Sunday. The following weekend won't work for me, and there is no guarantee to be permits available and that the weather will cooperate until then. It is already pretty late in the season.

Miles #40334 09/23/14 03:02 PM
S
Steve D Offline OP
OP Offline
S
But if your schedule frees up for this weekend, let me know!

Steve D #40336 09/23/14 03:39 PM
S
S
Just a note: There is a slight chance of precipitation coming through for this weekend. So be prepared.

Also, it is late in the season. Even though online numbers show all slots are reserved, it is highly likely that if you show up on Friday morning, you will be able to get walk-in (free) permits to hike on Saturday (and the same on Saturday for a Sunday hike).

If you are willing to hike on a weekday, there is no problem with permits -- Look at last years unused permits numbers for September.

Steve C #40339 09/23/14 05:29 PM
S