Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Late Training
#4077 05/06/10 03:58 PM
OP Offline
Hey Everyone,

So I'm new to hiking and this forum. I've been fishing in Lone Pine my whole life and always wanted to climb Mt. Whitney. I finally put in for the lottery, 22 dates, and was the lucky recipient of June 6th - 7th. A little earlier than I was hoping for but what are you going to do. I'm in decent shape, I think... I started ramping up the training this last weekend, I know a little late, at Icehouse Canyon. I didn't have to hard of a time getting up to Timber Peak. I'm going back this weekend and grabbing a different peak. Any suggestions for training in the next month is appreciated. I'm thinking about heading up to Olancha and doing Olancha Peak before the Whitney trip. Anyone know the current conditions?

Re: Late Training
SoCal John #4079 05/06/10 04:24 PM
H
H
Olancha Peak is great hike. It is similar to Whitney in distance and vertical gain, just 2300' lower. It usually has less snow and melts off faster than the peaks further north, but I am not sure of current conditions. It looked like it had now above 10,000' from 395 2 weeks ago.

I would hike Mt. Baldy from the village. Are you prepared for snow or icy trails? There will still be snow and ice to deal with in early June.

SoCal John #4080 05/06/10 04:29 PM
S
S
Welcome John!

Good for you getting the permit. Others can help with the So Cal training. But I just wanted to tell you to be sure to read up some on the issues with altitude. Lots of people who are in shape get wiped by AMS (altitude sickness) and have to turn around before they get to the top of Whitney.

If you check the Orientation notes (link in the Feature Topics box to the left), you will find the "Learn more about altitude sickness" section. Hope it helps.

Steve C #4087 05/06/10 11:19 PM