Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 155 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Wag Bags
eje67 #46011 05/01/16 08:09 AM
I always take care of business at the trailhead. I'm good for 24 hours. Problem solved.

eje67 #46012 05/01/16 09:45 AM
Interesting argument, eje67. I think it would be a tough sell to a judge that every backpacker is required by 36 CFR §261.11 to carry their human waste out of every National Forest, even their waste water (pee?). As I read it, the intent of the §261.11 Sanitation seems to be intended for RV holding tanks, developed toilets, and general litter prohibitions. But I'm not a lawyer and only a judge can ultimately define what is "reasonable" in any given case.

Lots of interesting issues might come up during a case like that. Such as, was it legal to remove (burn down) the toilets and implement a pack out system without completing the ongoing NEPA process that was in the process of evaluating those very alternatives? Seems like a judge might direct Inyo to go back and finish that NEPA process if they want to enforce wag bag use for this specific area. And then that would bring up the obvious impacts that we see on the trail.

SierraNevada #46014 05/01/16 11:10 AM
E
E
Originally Posted By: SierraNevada
I think it would be a tough sell to a judge that every backpacker is required by 36 CFR §261.11 to carry their human waste out of every National Forest, even their waste water (pee?).

I could definitely see that being a sticking point for a judge. But...it's basically how the federal district judge in Oregon and the appellate panel of 9th Circuit judges interpreted §261.11(d) in US v. Wasson.