Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 228 guests, and 28 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Cottonwood Lakes and Langley Trip 2021
#58308 01/31/21 06:19 AM
T
Trey P Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Hello all,

Newbie here. My family and I are planning a 2-night trip by the cottonwood lakes in mid June 2021. My mom and dad saw the lakes on a day hike back in the late 70's. He has since passed away and before mom's age gets away from her, we are making a trip to the lakes together. My middle sister and I are even thinking about attempting to summit Langley. Anyway,

My question is about the weather. I have called and spoken to what seemed to be a younger, not so experienced person who put me on hold to ask their supervisor. I have emailed the Inyo National Forest. Both have given me two different responses. Between the two of them I should be expecting weather in the range of freezing temperatures, lakes frozen over, and lots of snow; or mild conditions with 60-70 degree weather during the day and 40-50 degree lows at night. Quite the range of conditions.

What kind of climate do you think we should expect both near the lakes and the Langley summit? Should we expect any rain/storms?

Again, it will be mid June. We plan on camping by Long lake or High lake.

Re: Cottonwood Lakes and Langley Trip 2021
Trey P #58311 01/31/21 07:42 PM
Both forecasts are possible. Afraid you will have to wait until April, or even May to make an informed guess.

Re: Cottonwood Lakes and Langley Trip 2021
Trey P #58312 02/01/21 12:17 AM
S
S
Greetings Trey,

Mid June should be pretty nice. Granted, there can be a freak storm passing through, but that is generally an exception. Weather forecasts are pretty good these days, so you will know what to expect about a week before your hike.