Next Thread
Print Thread
February 19th Day Summit
#59414 02/21/22 01:41 PM
N
NVG Offline OP
OP Offline
N
(Not sure why the pictures aren't showing up in here, let me know and I will fix them)

Hello everyone,

First I'd like to give a shout out to @bobpickering for the guidance and support through this whole project. Bob has been a great mentor and had the unfortunate pleasure of answering a million questions about mountaineering and whatever else BS I wasted his time with.

I've never written one of these before but maybe someone can gain something from it.

A bit about me, I log a ton of miles a year on the trails or running in the carson range/tahoe area since 2020 when I moved to Nevada. After repeating these summits, I wanted to transition more into mountaineering and started slowly learning and doing the same mountains in the winter. I never had much of an urge to do Whitney because it was so popular, but after driving down to that area and seeing the peak from the road I was hooked. I saw that people could do it outside of normal permit times and I started creating a system for a possible first time, solo, winter, day summit, of Whitney.

I ramped up my training, and looked for a weather window paying for long range forecasts from a site called meteoblue. A window looked available from the 16-19th but there was light precipitation on the 15th, which caused some concern. But all reports showed not much happened as far as weather on that day and I started making plans for the 19th, which gave three days since the 15th if any snow actually came down. *(This weather prediction ended up being spot on and essentially exact to what was predicted)