Next Thread
Print Thread
Midnight Entry to Whitney Zone?
#59657 06/14/22 11:18 AM
J
Jammer Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I have been visiting Mt Whitney most summers since 2013, but this is the first year I have a permit and intend to continue to the west after summiting and heading to Guitar Lake and eventually on to Onion Valley. I have a shuttle from Onion Valley scheduled for the evening before my permit starts. Ideally, I would like to arrive at the portal in time to grab a burger and then head up to the Lone Pine Lake area around sunset. The plan would be to hang out there until I can continue my hike and legally enter the Whitney Zone at midnight with the hope of being on or near the summit by sunrise.

This all makes sense to me, but I've never done it before and I want to make sure I'm not going to be in violation of any regulations to hang out at LPL for an hour or two waiting for midnight, should I get there early. I won't be camping for sure (not setting up a tent, etc), but if I'm supposed to wait at the Portal until midnight before hiking, then I would want to adhere to that requirement.

Re: Midnight Entry to Whitney Zone?
Jammer #59658 06/14/22 07:55 PM
Originally Posted by Jammer
I have a shuttle from Onion Valley scheduled for the evening before my permit starts.

is that a typo? Getting a shuttle to Onion Valley would make starting from the Portal very hard.

WanderingJim #59659 06/15/22 07:28 AM
I had a conversation with a ranger about start times some years ago. He maintained that you must start from the Portal at midnight. It was because permits begin at the Portal not at Lone Pine Lake.

Who knows what kind of answer you might get today? To be certain, you should contact the ranger station for current policy.

That said, we left the Portal at 10PM twice in separate years. It is unlikely that there will be rangers checking for early starting scofflaws.

Last edited by RichardK; 06/15/22 07:29 AM.
WanderingJim #59660 06/15/22 10:06 AM
J