Mt Whitney Webcam
Mt Williamson Webcam
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 207 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Epic Mt. Humphreys Climb (7-2-22)
#59672 07/04/22 12:13 PM
OP Offline
Last summer, I climbed Mt. Humphreys for what I figured would be the last time. I was 72 and starting to scale back. Then I started getting hints from people wanting to do it again. I’ve been climbing with Ed since 1990, and he wanted to give his wife, Sue, a chance to climb it. Ben, who posts here as BFR, was also interested. I’ve climbed with Paul since about 1999, and he was all in.

Aadi, who posts here as climby_climber, posted a question and then a trip report on his Humphreys attempt. A spirited discussion followed. I didn’t know Aadi, but he struck me as a sensible guy with lots of enthusiasm and not much experience. That was me 35 years ago. I just had to invite him.

Ed and Sue wanted to backpack, so they booked a permit for July 1. Everything was set until it wasn’t. Ed, Aadi, and I all proposed additions to the cast. Jason, who posts as JR, joined the climb. Ed and Aadi’s friends couldn’t make it, and Ben had to drop out. (Ben needs to realize that climbing is more important than family gatherings.)

Now for the actual trip report. On July 1, Ed and Sue hiked over Piute pass and camped on the way to Humphreys. On July 2, Aadi, Paul, Jason, and I left the parking lot at 5:00 AM. We met Ed and Sue as planned, and we all trudged up to the big notch north of the summit.