Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
PLB / SPOT / Delorme / Sat Phone
#36498 05/14/14 08:34 PM
nyker Offline OP
OP Offline
I'm looking for the current thought on these units.

I'm thinking of picking one of these devices up primarily for use in an emergency (hoping I'd never need it) but being realistic and knowing where we all go is often far from quick help if you need it.

I've had some minor experience using a SPOT (someone else's) years ago, but it seemed pretty crude and haven't used any since.

Assuming all have similar coverage via satellite, I'd like to hear suggestions based on experience from those using these devices, particularly from any SAR personnel.

The new Delorme inReach looks interesting and has a GPS/map
A sat phone would be great but they are pricy, large and still rely on batteries which seem pretty thirsty requiring a solar charger, ie more weight.

factors to consider: features, weight, coverage, durability, capabilities, etc..

Thanks in advance

Re: PLB / SPOT / Delorme / Sat Phone
nyker #36503 05/14/14 10:29 PM
S
S
I still favor SPOT. My reasons: Family and friends can see where you are (if you use it as it is meant to be). If used for tracking, people can see that you are moving, which usually indicates you are doing ok.

PLB: I wouldn't use it, because it can ONLY be used in an emergency. Nobody knows where you are until you press the SOS button. They're good for groups hiking in avalanche zones, but not for hikers.

SPOT has several down sides:
1. People misuse them: turn them on and press the button, shut it down in 5 minutes. Signals usually don't get out that way. Should be left on 30 minutes, or hours where there are obstructions.

2. They don't work in deep canyons such as: last mile or two of the Main Mt Whitney trail; Bubbs Creek (Kings Canyon); Vernal/Nevada Falls trail in Yosemite -- all these have high cliff walls preventing line-of-site to receiving satellites.